Dhruv Malhotra (b.1985) grew up in Jaipur. He majored in Economics but gave it up to pursue life as a photographer. His works have focused on urban areas, cities at night and have engaged with issues of progress, modernity and the otherworldly.
Dhruv Malhotra’s major work in colour, the AFTER DARK TRILOGY: Noida Soliloquy, Sleepers & After Party spans almost a decade (2007 to 2015). The first chapter, Noida Soliloquy was exhibited at Photoink, New Delhi in 2010 and most recently at the FOTOFEST International 2018 Biennial in Houston, USA. Photographs from his second series, Sleepers had a solo presentation at the 2010 Brighton Photo Biennial, UK in the exhibition, New Ways of Looking, curated by Martin Parr. Photographs from Sleepers were also included in the exhibition, The Matter Within at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco (2011) and a 3-person exhibition titled, Transitions: Urban Landscapes, curated by Deepak Ananth at The British School at Rome, Rome (2012). Sleepers was exhibited at Photoink in 2013. Malhotra’s works from the first two series were also included in the exhibition, City Dwellers – Contemporary Art from India at the Seattle Art Museum, Seattle, USA (2014) and at Off Festival Bratislava, curated by Zuzana Lapitkova, Bratislava, Slovakia (2014). In 2015, the final chapter of the trilogy, After Party was exhibited at Photoink. 
Dhruv lives in Jaipur and his work is represented by PHOTOINK, New Delhi. He can be contacted at malhotra_dhruv@hotmail.com or mail@photoink.net

Solo Exhibitions
After Dark Trilogy - Gallery SKE, Bangalore 2018 
After Party - Photoink, New Delhi 2015
Sleepers - Photoink, New Delhi, 2013
Selections from Noida Soliloquy & Sleepers - Chatterjee & Lal, Mumbai, 2013
Noida Soliloquy - Photoink, New Delhi, 2010

Group Exhibitions

Who is Asleep, Who is Awake curated by Sudarshan Shetty at the Serendipity Arts Festival, Panjim Goa 2022
Face to Face, at the Outside Art Project at King's Cross London, curated by Ekow Eshun in partnership with the Global Fund for Human Rights 2020
FotoFest 2018 Biennial : INDIA: Contemporary Photographic and New Media Art, curated by Sunil Gupta and Steven Evans, Houston 2018 
Mutations: Indo-French image encounters, curated by Rahaab Alana and Francois Cheval, 24 Jor Bagh, New Delhi India 2018
Photo Biennale Denmark, Cities and Memory, Brandt's Museum, Odense Denmark, 2016
Sensorium Edition{love}, Sunaparanta Goa Center for the Arts, Goa 2015
Off Festival Bratislava, Curated by Zuzana Lapitkova, Bratislava, Slovakia 2014
City Dwellers – Contemporary Art from India – Collection of Sanjay Parthasarathy and Malini Balakrishnan, Seattle Art Museum, Seattle, USA, 2014
Letters to Olana, New York Public Library, New York USA 2012
Transitions: Urban Studies, Curated by Deepak Ananth, at The British School in Rome Italy 2012
New Work - New Releases, Dumbo, NY Photo Festival, New York USA 2011
The Matter Within, Curated by Betti Sue Hertz, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts; San Francisco USA 2011-12
Skoda Award Show - Lalit Kala Academy, New Delhi India 2011
New Ways of Looking at the Brighton Photo Biennial 2010, Curated by Martin Parr, UK 2010
Festival International de Mode et de Photographie - Hyeres, France 2010

PIER 24, San Francisco, USA
Kiran Nadar Museum of Art, New Delhi, India
Collection of Sanjay Parthasarathy and Malini Balakrishnan, Seattle, USA
Art Institute of Chicago, USA

Selected Participant, World Press Photo Joop Swart Masterclass, 2012
SVA Photoglobal NYC Residency Award at Hyeres Festival, France, 2010
Selected, Hyeres Festival, France, 2010 

Artist in Residence, Studio Das Weisse Haus, Vienna Austria 2014
TAJ Residency & SKI Projects, Bangalore India 2013
Photoglobal Residency at School of Visual Arts, New York City USA 2010-11

Print Publications
New York Times Magazine USA 2018
Smithsonian Magazine USA 2016
Grazia Paris 2015
The Indian Quarterly 2015
Numéro France 2014
Espoarte Italy 2013
Harper’s Magazine USA 2013
Domus India 2013 
Citycsapes South Africa 2012
Internazionale Rome 2012
New Statesman United Kingdon 2011
Photo+ South Korea 2011
De Standaard Belgium 2011
Motherland India 2011
Platform India 2010
OjodePez Spain 2009